Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering Call Numbers: Dewey Decimal & Library of Congress
620s - Engineering General - TA1-2040
621 - Mechanical Engineering - TJ1-1570
Need a Book We Don't Have?
Advanced Engineering Dynamics by 'Advanced Engineering Dynamics' bridges the gap between elementary dynamics and advanced specialist applications in engineering. It begins with a reappraisal of Newtonian principles before expanding into analytical dynamics typified by the methods of Lagrange and by Hamilton's Principle and rigid body dynamics. Four distinct vehicle types (satellites, rockets, aircraft and cars) are examined highlighting different aspects of dynamics in each case. Emphasis is placed on impact and one dimensional wave propagation before extending the study into three dimensions. Robotics is then looked at in detail, forging a link between conventional dynamics and the highly specialised and distinctive approach used in robotics. The text finishes with an excursion into the Special Theory of Relativity mainly to define the boundaries of Newtonian Dynamics but also to re-appraise the fundamental definitions. Through its examination of specialist applications highlighting the many different aspects of dynamics this text provides an excellent insight into advanced systems without restricting itself to a particular discipline. The result is essential reading for all those requiring a general understanding of the more advanced aspects of engineering dynamics.
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Electric Motors and Drives by Electric Motors and Drives is intended for non-specialist users of electric motors and drives, filling the gap between theory-based academic textbooks and the more prosaic 'handbooks', which provide useful detail but little opportunity for the development of real insight and understanding. The book explores all of the widely-used modern types of motor and drive, including conventional and brushless D.C., induction motors and servo drives, providing readers with the knowledge to select the right technology for a given job. Austin Hughes' approach, using a minimum of maths, has established Electric Motors and Drives as a leading guide for engineers, and the key to a complex subject for a wider readership, including technicians, managers and students. * Acquire essential practical knowledge of motors and drives, with a minimum of math and theory * Updated material on the latest and most widely-used modern motors and drives * New edition includes additional diagrams and worked examples throughout
Publication Date: 2005-12-23
Engineering Materials 1 by Widely adopted around the world, Engineering Materials 1 is a core materials science and engineering text for third- and fourth-year undergraduate students; it provides a broad introduction to the mechanical and environmental properties of materials used in a wide range of engineering applications. The text is deliberately concise, with each chapter designed to cover the content of one lecture. As in previous editions, chapters are arranged in groups dealing with particular classes of properties, each group covering property definitions, measurement, underlying principles, and materials selection techniques. Every group concludes with a chapter of case studies that demonstrate practical engineering problems involving materials. Engineering Materials 1, Fourth Edition is perfect as a stand-alone text for a one-semester course in engineering materials or a first text with its companion Engineering Materials 2: An Introduction to Microstructures and Processing, in a two-semester course or sequence. New and Key Features Include: Many new design case studies and design-based examples Revised and expanded treatments of stress-strain, fatigue, creep, and corrosion Additional worked examples-to consolidate, develop, and challenge Compendia of results for elastic beams, plastic moments, and stress intensity factors Many new photographs and links to Google Earth, websites, and video clips Accompanying companion site with access to instructors' resources, including a suite of interactive materials science tutorials, a solutions manual, and an image bank of figures from the book
Publication Date: 2011-09-26
Heath Transfer, 2nd ed. The book provides an exhaustive coverage of two- and three-dimensional heat conduction, forced and free convection, boiling and radiation heat transfer, heat exchangers, computer methods in heat transfer, and mass transfer. The main emphasis is on the understanding of fundamental concepts and their application to complex problems.
Publication Date: 2012
Knovel Steam Tables This title provides a full implementation of the 1997 industrial formulation for the properties of water and steam by the International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam, IAPWS, as well as IAPWS releases for transport properties and surface tension. The data presentation is in the form of interactive tables and live graphs. The tables are of modest resolution. The graphs are each accompanied by a digitizer. All but one of the graphs contain families of curves (example: constant pressure lines). The user may obtain any desired precision for points over the entire two-dimensional valid range of the graph. This may be accomplished either by picking points off the graph with a mouse click to obtain both the axis values and the value of pressure or other parameters or by entering an x-axis together with either a y-axis value or a curve parameter value to have the point plotted on the graph and obtain output at any desired precision of the remaining axis and/or parameter values. All of the tables, graphs, and graph digitizers allow the user to select either SI or English units for their inputs and outputs.
Publication Date: 2006-06-12
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12E by The 100th Anniversary Edition of the Cornerstone Text of Mechanical Engineering--Fully Revised to Focus on the Core Subjects Critical to the Discipline This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing. Coverage includes: * Mechanics of solids and fluids * Heat * Strength of materials * Materials of engineering * Fuels and furnaces * Machine elements * Power generation * Transportation * Fans, pumps, and compressors * Instruments and controls * Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics * Applied mechanics * Engineering ethics
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain by THE MOST COMPLETE, UP-TO-DATE GUIDE TO STRESS AND STRAIN FORMULAS Fully revised throughout, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, Eighth Edition, provides accurate and thorough tabulated formulations that can be applied to the stress analysis of a comprehensive range of structural components. All equations and diagrams of structural properties are presented in an easy-to-use, thumb, through format. This extensively updated edition contains new chapters on fatigue and fracture mechanics, stresses in fasteners and joints, composite materials, and biomechanics. Several chapters have been expanded and new topics have been added. Each chapter now concludes with a summary of tables and formulas for ease of reference. This is the definitive resource for designers, engineers, and analysts who need to calculate stress and strain management. ROARK'S FORMULAS FOR STRESS AND STRAIN, EIGHTH EDITION, COVERS: Behavior of bodies under stress Principles and analytical methods Numerical and experimental methods Tension, compression, shear, and combined stress Beams; flexure of straight bars Bending of curved beams Torsion Flat plates Columns and other compression members Shells of revolution; pressure vessels; pipes Bodies in contact undergoing direct bearing and shear stress Elastic stability Dynamic and temperature stresses Stress concentration factors Fatigue and fracture mechanics Stresses in fasteners and joints Composite materials Biomechanics
Publication Date: 2011-12-19
Electronic Book Collections
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window An engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to a collection of critical and, regularly updated engineering reference information, most notably over 650 reference and handbooks. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
ACM eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe series includes books from across the entire spectrum of computer science subject matter, appealing to computing practitioners, researchers, educators, and students. The series will initially focus on four kinds of books: graduate level textbooks; research monographs that provide an overview of established and emerging fields; practitioner level professional books; and books devoted to the history and social impact of computing.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database (NOW including eBooks and Standards) This link opens in a new windowASCE's electronic information retrieval service to all its publications published. Full-text access is available for e-journals from 1872 to the present and for e-books from 1985 to the present. The latest e-standards are also available.
ASME Digital Library This link opens in a new window ASME provides full text access to all Transactions Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME e-books from 1992-2019, and abstracts to Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of eBooks from EBSCOhost.
IEEE E-Books This link opens in a new windowDescription of this database.
Knovel Online Books This link opens in a new windowA collection of 800+ online reference and text books for science and engineering. Browse by title or search all titles or subject groups for needed information in multiple disciplines. Subject areas include engineering, chemistry, materials science, biochemistry, biology & biotechnology, environmental engineering, and more.
ProQuest (eBrary) eBook Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest provides an intuitive eBook system that allows access to academic eBooks in all major disciplines. Books can be downloaded to specific eReaders like Kindles and Nooks, and tablets like the iPad and Android based devices.
ScienceDirect STEM eBook Collections This link opens in a new windowThe Logan Library is participating an evidence-based selection program of Elsevier ScienceDirect e-books. Between now and April 30, 2022, Rose-Hulman students and employees have unlimited access to over 5,000 full-text e-books. These e-books are DRM-free and were published between 2017 and the present and focus on:
Agricultural, Biological, and Food Sciences, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Science and Medicine, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy
Engineering, Environmental Science, Finance, Forensics and Security, Immunology and Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematical Sciences, Mathematics, Mathematics and Computing, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical Science, Psychology, Social Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
SIAM E-Books This link opens in a new windowSociety for Industrial and Applied Mathematics e-books from 1971 to the present.
SPIE Digital LIbrary This link opens in a new windowThe SPIE Digital Library is the largest collection of optics and photonics applied research in the world and includes more than 430,000 technical papers from 10 peer-reviewed journals, SPIE e-books from 1989-2018, and SPIE conference proceedings.
Springer Nature eBooks and Journal Backfiles This link opens in a new windowTo Access subscribed content:
1. Click on a discipline in the browse by discipline box.
2. Uncheck the Include Preview-Only content box.
on the left hand side of the results screen.
NOTE: Journal Back-files available up to 1996 ONLY / eBooks available up to the 2021 publication year.
Taylor and Francis STEM eBook Collections This link opens in a new windowThe Logan Library provides unlimited access to many Taylor & Francis e-books on general engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. These e-books are DRM free.
ASME e-books collection: 1993 - 2019
Applied Mechanical Design, 2018. (EBSCOhost)
Basics of Precicion Engineering, 2018. (EBSCOhost)
Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering, 2016. (EBSCOhost)
Continuum Mechanics and Thermodynamics of Matter, 2016. (EBSCOhost)
Creative Design Engineering, 2016. (EBSCOhost)
Design and Analysis of Mechanisms, 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Design and Optimization of Mechanical Engineering Products, 2018. (EBSCOhost)
Design Engineer's Reference Guide, 2014. (EBSCOhost)
Essentials of Vehicle Dynamic, 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer, 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Internal Combustion Engines, 2016. (EBSCOhost)
Mathematics for Mechanical Engineers,2022 (CRC Press)
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 2018 (AccessEngineering)
Mechanical Design of Machine Components, 2nd Ed., 2016. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Engineering for Sustainable Development: State-of-the-Art Research, 2019. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Vol. 1, 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Vol. 2, 2014. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Vol. 3, 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Vol. 4, 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Engineer's Reference Book, 2013. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Fastening, Joining, and Assembly, 2nd Ed., 2015. (EBSCOhost)
Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis, 2011, (CRC Press)
Thermal Energy Systems, 2019. (EBSCOhost)
Universal Design, Principles and Models, 2013. (Taylor & Francis)
Vehicle Dynamics, 2015. (EBSCOhost)