Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library FAQs

ADA/VPAT Compliance

ADA Compliant Databases

EBSCO

All HTML Full Text articles in EBSCOhost databases have a text-to-speech option and an option to download the audio file as an MP3. However, many articles are not available in HTML.

Gale

HTML full-text documents in Gale databases can be read aloud. Articles may also be downloaded as an audio file in MP3.

ProQuest

Many ProQuest documents are ADA compliant.

JSTOR

JSTOR’s image based PDFs have been automatically tagged so that they can be read with screen readers like JAWS. Where tagging is not sufficient, manual tagging can be requested for a limited number of articles. See the JSTOR accessibility policy for details.

Other Databases with ADA Compliance Policies

Accessibility Information for Interfaces

ProQuest.com

ProQuest is committed to making the pages of proquest.com accessible to individuals with disabilities in accordance with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act. If you have difficulty viewing any page via adaptive technology, please contact us so that we can make the information available to you.

ProQuest Products

We strive to make our products meet international accessibility standards including the American with Disabilities Act, Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, and the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

Accessibility Documentation (VPAT and WCAG statements)

Accessibility documentation for individual products can be found on the ProQuest Accessibility Directory. The Accessibility Directory includes Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT), Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG), and general accessibility statements.

Support

Contact ProQuest Technical Support if you have difficulty accessing ProQuest content with adaptive technology. We are able to process 3 documents per request and will respond within 3 days with remediated content or let you know if additional time is required or remediation is not possible.


 

Image result for gale cengage

Gale's Electronic Product Accessibility Policy

Gale is committed to making its products accessible to users of all abilities.

The majority of Gale online products for libraries are compatible with assistive technologies and meet key federal standards for compliance under Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, as well as most Level A (Priority 1) and AA (Priority 2) success criteria of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0) developed by the Worldwide Web Consortium (W3C).

Since Gale publishes and hosts content from a wide variety of reference sources and periodicals as well as digital archives of historical materials, it is not possible to ensure the complete compliance of every document. Nonetheless Gale is working to maximize accessibility of its content. Through the efforts of a dedicated User Experience team and the extension of accessibility testing to include both automated and manual testing, Gale strives continually to make its products universally accessible and user-friendly and to bring its user experience into full alignment with Section 508 standards and WCAG 2.0 Level A and AA success criteria.

For Further Information

If you are seeking information about the accessibility of Cengage Learning educational materials, please go to http://www.cengage.com/accessibility/

If you have general product questions about registration, accessing digital content, or access codes, please contact Customer Service.

The date of this update was November 2013. 

;