It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil & Environmental Engineering: Databases and Journals
The Logan Library's journals are listed in the Journal Finder.If the Logan Library does not have the journal article that you need, you can request it using an Interlibrary Loan request form. Please allow 1-5 days for articles.
How to access the IEEE database remotely:
1) Turn on your VPN access.
(In the task bar, on the bottom right corner of your screen, there is a ^. Click on the ^ and toggle on the icon that looks like a world globe.)
2) Click on IEEE Explore.
3) Connect to the library proxy server.
(This page to connect to the proxy server will automatically pop up, if you are not already connected to it. Simply enter your network id (your RHIT e-mail address without the @rose-hulman.edu) and your network password.
4) You should now have access to the IEEE database.
ASME Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowASME provides full text access to all Transactions Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME e-books from 1992-2019, and abstracts to Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
JSTOR Sustainability CollectionThis link opens in a new windowDiscover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
SAE MOBILUS (Full text to the Technical Papers)This link opens in a new windowSAE MOBILUS provides full-text access to the SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to the present and abstracts to other SAE resources. SAE Technical Papers from the Society of Automotive Engineers cover automotive electronics, diesel engines, spark ignition engines, emissions, fuel economy, manufacturing and production, materials and structures, missiles and spacecraft, noise safety, trucks and buses, V/STOL, and energy conversion. The Digital Library indexes and provides abstracts to journal articles, books, and standards. Older papers can be obtained in print in Logan Library. Access to SAE Ground Vehicle Standards can be accessed from the reference computer in the Logan Library.
If you have difficulty accessing this database, try using the Microsoft Edge browser and https://saemobilus.sae.org/.
TRIDThis link opens in a new windowTRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is an EBSCO database that provides well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 888,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
Gale In Context: Environmental StudiesThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Environmental Studies is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAbstract search database for Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), and Medline (1950-present).
RSMeans Data Online provides reliable construction cost data along with the tools necessary to quickly access costs at the material or task level. Users can create unit line estimates with RSMeans data from Gordian.
The Logan Library has worked with CEE professors to provide students taking freshman and senior civil engineering design classes during FY21 to have access to RSMeans Data Online. This database is for academic purposes only at Rose-Hulman. It is not for RHIT Facilities, co-ops, external internships, etc.