Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need a Book We Don't Have?
American Society of Civil Engineers E-Books
Civil Engineering Call Numbers: Dewey Decimal & Library of Congress
624 - Civil Engineering - TA1-2040
Environmental Science Call Numbers: Dewey Decimal & Library of Congress
333.7, 571, 615 - Environmental Science - GE1-350
363.7, 628 - Environmental Technology - Sanitary Engineering - TD
540s - Chemistry & Allied Sciences - QD
570s - Life Sciences / Biology - QH301-QH705.5
577 - Ecology - GF1-900
580s - Plants / Botany - QK1-989
590s - Animals - QL
600s - Technology & Applied Sciences - T
610s - Medical Sciences / Medicine - R
620s - Engineering - T
Interactive STEM Equations
Knovel Interactive Equations (Elsevier)
Hundreds of validated engineering equations that engineers can search through, solve and share in a variety of formats.
Explore material properties using DataVis,an AccessEngineering interactive data visualization tool. Save time and ensure accuracy by using our calculator tools to solve frequently used engineering equations. Use thousands of interactive graphs and downloadable tables make it easy to analyze essential engineering data and confidently use it in real-world projects. Learn step-by-step solutions to real-world engineering problems by viewing 900+ instructional videos that were created exclusively for AccessEngineering by engineering faculty.
Electronic Book Collections
AccessEngineering An engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to a collection of critical and, regularly updated engineering reference information, most notably over 650 reference and handbooks. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
ACM eBook Collection The series includes books from across the entire spectrum of computer science subject matter, appealing to computing practitioners, researchers, educators, and students. The series will initially focus on four kinds of books: graduate level textbooks; research monographs that provide an overview of established and emerging fields; practitioner level professional books; and books devoted to the history and social impact of computing.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database (NOW including eBooks and Standards) ASCE's electronic information retrieval service to all its publications published. Full-text access is available for e-journals from 1872 to the present and for e-books from 1985 to the present. The latest e-standards are also available.
ASME Digital Library ASME provides full text access to all Transactions Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME e-books from 1992-2019, and abstracts to Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection A collection of eBooks from EBSCOhost.
IEEE E-Books Description of this database.
Knovel Online Books A collection of 800+ online reference and text books for science and engineering. Browse by title or search all titles or subject groups for needed information in multiple disciplines. Subject areas include engineering, chemistry, materials science, biochemistry, biology & biotechnology, environmental engineering, and more.
ProQuest (eBrary) eBook Central ProQuest provides an intuitive eBook system that allows access to academic eBooks in all major disciplines. Books can be downloaded to specific eReaders like Kindles and Nooks, and tablets like the iPad and Android based devices.
ScienceDirect STEM eBook Collections The Logan Library is participating an evidence-based selection program of Elsevier ScienceDirect e-books. Between now and April 30, 2022, Rose-Hulman students and employees have unlimited access to over 5,000 full-text e-books. These e-books are DRM-free and were published between 2017 and the present and focus on:
Agricultural, Biological, and Food Sciences, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Science and Medicine, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy
Engineering, Environmental Science, Finance, Forensics and Security, Immunology and Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematical Sciences, Mathematics, Mathematics and Computing, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical Science, Psychology, Social Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
SPIE Digital LIbrary The SPIE Digital Library is the largest collection of optics and photonics applied research in the world and includes more than 430,000 technical papers from 10 peer-reviewed journals, SPIE e-books from 1989-2018, and SPIE conference proceedings.
Springer Nature eBooks and Journal Backfiles To Access subscribed content:
1. Click on a discipline in the browse by discipline box.
2. Uncheck the Include Preview-Only content box.
on the left hand side of the results screen.
NOTE: Journal Back-files available up to 1996 ONLY / eBooks available up to the 2021 publication year.
Taylor and Francis STEM eBook Collections The Logan Library provides unlimited access to many Taylor & Francis e-books on general engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. These e-books are DRM free.
Civil Engineering Reference Books
New and Interesting Books
2018 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook by A comprehensive visual companion to the International Building Code®―2018 edition Thoroughly updated to address the provisions of the ICC's 2018 International Building Code®, this fully-illustrated guide makes it easy to understand and apply the most critical code provisions. Covering both fire- and life-safety and structural provisions, this practical resource contains hundreds of user-friendly diagrams designed to clarify the application and intent of the IBC. The 2018 International Building Code® Illustrated Handbook provides all the information needed to get construction jobs done right and achieve compliance. An invaluable companion to the 2018 IBC, it is a must have resource for building officials, architects, engineers, contractors and all building construction professionals. Get complete application details on: *Scope and Administration *Definitions *Use and Occupancy Classification *Special Detailed Requirements Based on Use and Occupancy *General Building Heights and Areas *Types of Construction *Fire and Smoke Protection Features *Interior Finishes *Fire Protection Systems *Means of Egress *Accessibility *Interior Environment *Exterior Walls *Roof Assemblies and Rooftop Structures *Structural Design *Special inspections and tests *Soils and Foundations *Concrete *Masonry *Steel *Wood *Glass and Glazing *Gypsum Board and Plaster *Plastic *Plumbing *Elevators and Conveying Systems *Special Construction *Encroachments in the Public Right-of-Way *Safeguards During Construction
Publication Date: 2018-07-11
Bridge Engineering by Bridge Engineering: Classifications, Design Loading, and Analysis Methods begins with a clear and concise exposition of theory and practice of bridge engineering, design and planning, materials and construction, loads and load distribution, and deck systems. This is followed by chapters concerning applications for bridges, such as: Reinforced and Prestressed Concrete Bridges, Steel Bridges, Truss Bridges, Arch Bridges, Cable Stayed Bridges, Suspension Bridges, Bridge Piers, and Bridge Substructures. In addition, the book addresses issues commonly found in inspection, monitoring, repair, strengthening, and replacement of bridge structures. Includes easy to understand explanations for bridge classifications, design loading, analysis methods, and construction Provides an overview of international codes and standards Covers structural features of different types of bridges, including beam bridges, arch bridges, truss bridges, suspension bridges, and cable-stayed bridges Features step-by-step explanations of commonly used structural calculations along with worked out examples
Publication Date: 2017-05-11
Bridges by A multidisciplinary and accessible introduction to humanity's favorite structure: the bridge.
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Concrete by THE MOST COMPREHENSIVE AND CURRENT GUIDE TO THE PROPERTIES, BEHAVIOR, AND TECHNOLOGY OF CONCRETE This thoroughly updated edition contains new information on: Recently built construction projects worldwide Shrinkage-reducing admixtures Self-consolidating concrete, pervious concrete, internal curing, and other cutting-edge innovations Modeling of ice formation and alkali-aggregate reaction in concrete Environmental impact of concrete Each chapter begins with a preview of the contents and ends with a self-test and a guide for further reading. More than 300 drawings and photographs illustrate the topics discussed in this definitive text on concrete. Comprehensive coverage includes: Microstructure of concrete Strength Dimensional stability Durability Hydraulic cements Aggregates Admixtures Proportioning concrete mixtures Concrete at early age Nondestructive methods Progress in concrete technology Advances in concrete mechanics Global warming and concrete in the future
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
Construction Contracting by The definitive contracting reference for the construction industry, updated and expanded Construction Contracting, the industry's leading professional reference for five decades, has been updated to reflect current practices, business methods, management techniques, codes, and regulations. A cornerstone of the construction library, this text presents the hard-to-find information essential to successfully managing a construction company, applicable to building, heavy civil, high-tech, and industrial construction endeavors alike. A wealth of coverage on the basics of owning a construction business provides readers with a useful "checkup" on the state of their company, and in-depth exploration of the logistics, scheduling, administration, and legal aspects relevant to construction provide valuable guidance on important facets of the business operations. This updated edition contains new coverage of modern delivery methods, technology, and project management. The field of construction contracting comprises the entire set of skills, knowledge, and conceptual tools needed to successfully own or manage a construction company, as well as to undertake any actual project. This book gives readers complete, up-to-date information in all of these areas, with expert guidance toward best practices. Learn techniques for accurate cost estimating and effective bidding Understand construction contracts, surety bonds, and insurance Explore project time and cost management, with safety considerations Examine relevant labor law and labor relations techniques Between codes, standards, laws, and regulations, the construction industry presents many different areas with which the manager needs to be up to date, on top of actually doing the day-to-day running of the business. This book provides it all under one cover - for the project side and the business side, Construction Contracting is a complete working resource in the field or office.
Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Construction Engineering Design Calculations and Rules of Thumb by Construction Engineering Calculations and Rules of Thumb begins with a brief, but rigorous, introduction to the mathematics behind the equations that is followed by self-contained chapters concerning applications for all aspects of construction engineering. Design examples with step-by-step solutions, along with a generous amount of tables, schematics, and calculations are provided to facilitate more accurate solutions through all phases of a project, from planning, through construction and completion. Includes easy-to-read and understand tables, schematics, and calculations Presents examples with step-by-step calculations in both US and SI metric units Provides users with an illustrated, easy-to-understand approach to equations and calculation methods
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
Construction Science and Materials by Construction Science & Materials is designed to cover topics studied at levels 2 - 5 on Construction HND courses and is also suitable for first year undergraduates on construction courses as well as Building surveying, Architectural Technology and Quantity Surveying. It is an essential text for those who have done no science since their GCSEs. Divided into 17 chapters, each with written explanations supplemented by solved examples and relevant diagrams to substantiate the text. Chapters end with numerical questions covering a range of problems and their answers are given at the end of the book and on the book's website.
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Crucial Conversations Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High, Second Edition by The New York Times and Washington Post bestseller that changed the way millions communicate "[Crucial Conversations] draws our attention to those defining moments that literally shape our lives, our relationships, and our world. . . . This book deserves to take its place as one of the key thought leadership contributions of our time." --from the Foreword by Stephen R. Covey, author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People "The quality of your life comes out of the quality of your dialogues and conversations. Here's how to instantly uplift your crucial conversations." --Mark Victor Hansen, cocreator of the #1 New York Times bestselling series Chicken Soup for the Soul® The first edition of Crucial Conversations exploded onto the scene and revolutionized the way millions of people communicate when stakes are high. This new edition gives you the tools to: Prepare for high-stakes situations Transform anger and hurt feelings into powerful dialogue Make it safe to talk about almost anything Be persuasive, not abrasive
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Designing Tall Building Structures by Addresses the Question Frequently Proposed to the Designer by Architects: "Can We Do This? Offering guidance on how to use code-based procedures while at the same time providing an understanding of why provisions are necessary, Tall Building Design: Steel, Concrete, and Composite Systemsmethodically explores the structural behavior of steel, concrete, and composite members and systems. This text establishes the notion that design is a creative process, and not just an execution of framing proposals. It cultivates imaginative approaches by presenting examples specifically related to essential building codes and standards. Tying together precision and accuracy--it also bridges the gap between two design approaches--one based on initiative skill and the other based on computer skill. The book explains loads and load combinations typically used in building design, explores methods for determining design wind loads using the provisions of ASCE 7-10, and examines wind tunnel procedures. It defines conceptual seismic design, as the avoidance or minimization of problems created by the effects of seismic excitation. It introduces the concept of performance-based design (PBD). It also addresses serviceability considerations, prediction of tall building motions, damping devices, seismic isolation, blast-resistant design, and progressive collapse. The final chapters explain gravity and lateral systems for steel, concrete, and composite buildings. The Book Also Considers: Preliminary analysis and design techniques The structural rehabilitation of seismically vulnerable steel and concrete buildings Design differences between code-sponsored approaches The concept of ductility trade-off for strength Tall Building Design: Steel, Concrete, and Composite Systemsis a structural design guide and reference for practicing engineers and educators, as well as recent graduates entering the structural engineering profession. This text examines all major concrete, steel, and composite building systems, and uses the most up-to-date building codes.
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Design Loads on Structures During Construction by Prepared by the Design Loads on Structures during Construction Standards Committee of the Codes and Standards Activities Division of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE Design loads during construction must account for the often short duration of loading and for the variability of temporary loads. Many elements of the completed structure that provide strength, stiffness, stability, or continuity may not be present during construction. Design Loads on Structures during Construction, ASCE/SEI 37-14, describes the minimum design requirements for construction loads, load combinations, and load factors affecting buildings and other structures that are under construction. It addresses partially completed structures as well as temporary support and access structures used during construction. The loads specified are suitable for use either with strength design criteria, such as ultimate strength design (USD) and load and resistance factor design (LRFD), or with allowable stress design (ASD) criteria. The loads are applicable to all conventional construction methods. Topics include: load factors and load combinations; dead and live loads; construction loads; lateral earth pressure; and environmental loads. Of particular note, the environmental load provisions have been aligned with those of Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures, ASCE/SEI 7-10. Because ASCE/SEI 7-10 does not address loads during construction, the environmental loads in this standard were adjusted for the duration of the construction period. This new edition of Standard 37 prescribes loads based on probabilistic analysis, observation of construction practices, and expert opinions. Embracing comments, recommendations, and experiences that have evolved since the original 2002 edition, this standard serves structural engineers, construction engineers, design professionals, code officials, and building owners.
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by A leadership fable that is as compelling and enthralling as it is realistic, relevant, and practical. In The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Patrick Lencioni once again offers a leadership fable that is as captivating and instructive as his first two best-selling books, The Five Temptations of a CEO and The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive. This time, he turns his keen intellect and storytelling power to the fascinating, complex world of teams. Kathryn Petersen, Decision Tech's CEO, faces the ultimate leadership crisis: Uniting a team in such disarray that it threatens to bring down the entire company. Will she succeed? Will she be fired? Will the company fail? Lencioni's utterly gripping tale serves as a timeless reminder that leadership requires as much courage as it does insight. Throughout the story, Lencioni reveals the five dysfunctions which go to the very heart of why teams even the best ones-often struggle. He outlines a powerful model and actionable steps that can be used to overcome these common hurdles and build a cohesive, effective team. Just as with his other books, Lencioni has written a compelling fable with a powerful yet deceptively simple message for all those who strive to be exceptional team leaders.
Publication Date: 2007-04-18
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition by Up-To-Date Techniquesfor SolvingAny Civil Engineering Problem Perform complex design and construction calculations quickly and accurately with help from this thoroughly revised guide.Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition, features more than 3,000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards. You will get start-to-finish calculation procedures for Load Resistance Factor Design (LRFD), anti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment. All-new steps to improve indoor air quality and protect structures from hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, and waves are also discussed in this on-the-job resource. This fully updated third edition covers: #65533; Structural Steel Engineering and Design #65533; Reinforced and Pre-stressed Concrete Engineering and Design #65533; Timber Engineering #65533; Soil Mechanics #65533; Surveying, Route Design, and Highway Bridges #65533; Fluid Mechanics, Pumps, Piping, and Hydro Power #65533; Water Supply and Storm Water System Design #65533; Sanitary Wastewater Treatment and Control #65533; Engineering Economics
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Highway Engineering by This book helps readers maximize effectiveness in all facets of highway engineering including planning, design, operations, safety, and geotechnical engineering. Highway Engineering: Planning, Design, and Operations features a seven part treatment, beginning with a clear and rigorous exposition of highway engineering concepts. These include project development, and the relationship between planning, operations, safety, and highway types (functional classification). Planning concepts and a four-step process overview are covered, along with trip generation, equations versus rates, trip distribution, and shortest path models equations versus rates. This is followed by parts concerning applications for horizontal and vertical alignment, highway geometric design, traffic operations, traffic safety, and civil engineering topics. Covers traffic flow relationships and traffic impact analysis, collision analysis, road safety audits, advisory speeds Applications for horizontal and vertical alignment, highway geometric design, traffic operations, traffic safety, civil engineering topics Engineering considerations for highway planning design and construction are included, such as hydraulics, geotechnical engineering, and structural engineering
Publication Date: 2015-09-09
Low-Volume Road Engineering by "Everything that sustains us #65533; grown, mined, or drilled #65533; begins its journey to us on a low-volume road (Long)." Defined as roads with traffic volumes of no more than 400 vehicles per day, they have enormous impacts on economies, communication, and social interaction. Low-volume roads comprise, at one end of the spectrum, farm-to-market roads, roads in developing countries, northern roads, roads on aboriginal lands and parklands; and at the other end of the spectrum, heavy haul roads for mining, oil and gas, oil sands extraction, and forestry. Low-Volume Road Engineering: Design, Construction, and Maintenance gives an international perspective to the engineering design of low-volume roads and their construction and maintenance. It is a single reference drawing from the dispersed literature. It lays out the basic principles of each topic, from road location and geometric design, pavement design, slope stability and erosion control, through construction to maintenance, then refers the reader to more comprehensive treatment elsewhere. Wherever possible, comparisons are made between the standard specifications and practices existing in the US, Canada, the UK, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Topics covered include the following: Road classification, location, and geometric design Pavement concepts, materials, and thickness design Drainage, erosion and sediment control, and watercrossings Slope stability Geosynthetics Road construction, maintenance, and maintenance management Low-Volume Road Engineering: Design, Construction, and Maintenance is a valuable reference for engineers, planners, designers and project managers in consulting firms, contracting firms and NGOs. It also is an essential reference in support of university courses on transportation engineering and planning, and on mining, oil and gas, and forestry infrastructure.
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures by Prepared by the Committee on Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures of the Codes and Standards Activities Division of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE. Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures, ASCE/SEI 7-10, provides requirements for general structural design and includes means for determining dead, live, soil, flood, snow, rain, atmospheric ice, earthquake, and wind loads, as well as their combinations, which are suitable for inclusion in building codes and other documents. This Standard, a revision of ASCE/SEI 7-05, offers a complete update and reorganization of the wind load provisions, expanding them from one chapter into six. The Standard contains new ultimate event wind maps with corresponding reductions in load factors, so that the loads are not affected, and updates the seismic loads with new risk-targeted seismic maps. The snow, live, and atmospheric icing provisions are updated as well. In addition, the Standard includes a detailed Commentary with explanatory and supplementary information designed to assist building code committees and regulatory authorities. The third printing of Standard ASCE/SEI 7-10 incorporates errata and includes Supplement 1. In addition, the seismic commentary has been expanded and completely revised. Standard ASCE/SEI 7 is an integral part of building codes in the United States. Many of the load provisions are substantially adopted by reference in the International Building Code and the NFPA 5000 Building Construction and Safety Code. Structural engineers, architects, and those engaged in preparing and administering local building codes will find the structural load requirements essential to their practice. Note: Purchasers of the first and second printings of Standard 7-10 can download the errata and Supplement 1. They can download the expanded seismic commentary from the ASCE Library.
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Modeling and Estimation of Structural Damage by Modelling and Estimation of Damage in Structures is a comprehensiveguide to solving the type of modelling and estimation problems associated with the physics of structural damage. Provides a model-based approach to damage identification Presents an in-depth treatment of probability theory and random processes Covers both theory and algorithms for implementing maximum likelihood and Bayesian estimation approaches Includes experimental examples of all detection and identification approaches Provides a clear means by which acquired data can be used to make decisions regarding maintenance and usage of a structure
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
Principles of Applied Civil Engineering Design by Principles of Applied Civil Engineering Design: Producing Drawings, Specifications, and Cost Estimates for Heavy Civil Projects walks engineers through standard practice and basic principles needed to prepare quality design and construction documents for a successful infrastructure project. Drawing on more than 30 years of engineering and design experience, Ying-Kit Choi helps readers understand the interrelationships among contract documents, site characterization, design and construction documents, and construction cost estimates. Choi introduces the fundamentals and process of applied engineering design, including the necessary field investigations to characterize a project site. He provides pragmatic guidance on the "how-to" of producing construction drawings, with advice on graphical representation; legends, abbreviations, and notes; drawing techniques and software; and certification of construction drawings. He offers a wealth of details on developing technical specifications, including good writing practices, types of construction specifications, the standardized Construction Specifications Institute format, measurement and payment provisions, and reference data. Chapters on cost estimating cover quantity estimates, pricing estimates, allowances and contingencies, and bid evaluation. A handy glossary defines common terms. This second edition reflects the rapid changes in the methods and tools used to produce design drawings, updating the discussions of presentation formats and technical resources. Of particular interest, the 2014 Construction Specifications Institute format is introduced for use in preparing specifications and estimating construction costs. Nine chapters encourage readers to test their comprehension with example problems and solutions. By setting out the guidelines, principles, and philosophy needed to produce design and construction documents for heavy civil projects, Choi assembles an excellent introduction for civil engineering students and young professionals, as well as provides a valuable reference for experienced design engineers, contractors, and project owners.
Publication Date: 2017-08-11
Reinforced Concrete by Concrete is one of the most used materials in the construction industry. In structural systems, the combination of concrete and steel reinforcement bars gives rise to reinforced concrete (RC), which is widely applied in the civil engineering field due to its adequate mechanical strength, durability, and fire resistance. Steel-rebar reinforced structures are subjected to structural deterioration when subjected to extreme loadings such as earthquake, fire, impact loadings and cyclic loading, consequently reducing the expected life and performance of structures. To enhance the structural performance, the RC structures are usually retrofitted or strengthened. This book reviews design, performance and applications of reinforced concrete.
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Risk Management in Civil Infrastructure by This book presents several original theories for risk, including Theory of Risk Monitoring, and Theory of Risk Acceptance, in addition to several analytical models for computing relative and absolute risk. The book discusses risk limit, states of risk, and the emerging concept of risk monitoring. The interrelationships between risk and resilience are also highlighted in an objective manner. The book includes several practical case studies showing how risk management and its components can be used to enhance performance of infrastructures at reasonable costs.
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Roads by Roads matter to people. This claim is central to the work of Penny Harvey and Hannah Knox, who in this book use the example of highway building in South America to explore what large public infrastructural projects can tell us about contemporary state formation, social relations, and emerging political economies.Roads focuses on two main sites: the interoceanic highway currently under construction between Brazil and Peru, a major public/private collaboration that is being realized within new, internationally ratified regulatory standards; and a recently completed one-hundred-kilometer stretch of highway between Iquitos, the largest city in the Peruvian Amazon, and a small town called Nauta, one of the earliest colonial settlements in the Amazon. The Iquitos-Nauta highway is one of the most expensive roads per kilometer on the planet.Combining ethnographic and historical research, Harvey and Knox shed light on the work of engineers and scientists, bureaucrats and construction company officials. They describe how local populations anticipated each of the road projects, even getting deeply involved in questions of exact routing as worries arose that the road would benefit some more than others. Connectivity was a key recurring theme as people imagined the prosperity that will come by being connected to other parts of the country and with other parts of the world. Sweeping in scope and conceptually ambitious, Roads tells a story of global flows of money, goods, and people--and of attempts to stabilize inherently unstable physical and social environments.
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
Smart Civil Structures by A smart civil structure integrates smart materials, sensors, actuators, signal processors, communication networks, power sources, diagonal strategies, control strategies, repair strategies, and life-cycle management strategies. It should function optimally and safely in its environment and maintain structural integrity during strong winds, severe earthquakes, and other extreme events. This book extends from the fundamentals to the state-of-the-art. It covers the elements of smart civil structures, their integration, and their functions. The elements consist of smart materials, sensors, control devices, signal processors, and communication networks. Integration refers to multi-scale modelling and model updating, multi-type sensor placement, control theory, and collective placement of control devices and sensors. And the functions include structural health monitoring, structural vibration control, structural self-repairing, and structural energy harvesting, with emphasis on their synthesis to form truly smart civil structures. It suits civil engineering students, professionals, and researchers with its blend of principles and practice.
Publication Date: 2017-03-30
Transportation Planning Handbook by A multi-disciplinary approach to transportation planning fundamentals The Transportation Planning Handbook is a comprehensive, practice-oriented reference that presents the fundamental concepts of transportation planning alongside proven techniques. This new fourth edition is more strongly focused on serving the needs of all users, the role of safety in the planning process, and transportation planning in the context of societal concerns, including the development of more sustainable transportation solutions. The content structure has been redesigned with a new format that promotes a more functionally driven multimodal approach to planning, design, and implementation, including guidance toward the latest tools and technology. The material has been updated to reflect the latest changes to major transportation resources such as the HCM, MUTCD, HSM, and more, including the most current ADA accessibility regulations. Transportation planning has historically followed the rational planning model of defining objectives, identifying problems, generating and evaluating alternatives, and developing plans. Planners are increasingly expected to adopt a more multi-disciplinary approach, especially in light of the rising importance of sustainability and environmental concerns. This book presents the fundamentals of transportation planning in a multidisciplinary context, giving readers a practical reference for day-to-day answers. Serve the needs of all users Incorporate safety into the planning process Examine the latest transportation planning software packages Get up to date on the latest standards, recommendations, and codes Developed by The Institute of Transportation Engineers, this book is the culmination of over seventy years of transportation planning solutions, fully updated to reflect the needs of a changing society. For a comprehensive guide with practical answers, The Transportation Planning Handbook is an essential reference.
Publication Date: 2016-07-11
Urban Development for the 21st Century by This title includes a number of Open Access chapters. Urban planners around the world are increasingly concerned with creating and maintaining cities that are healthy for both the environment and for individuals. Cities are at the forefront of the trend toward sustainable living, since they are the site of concentrated population, resource use, and greenhouse gas emissions, yet also have the tools and the resources to address climate change and environmental degradation. Part of the modern urban planner's challenge is to impact individual behavior on a systemic, urban scale, since sustainable cities are made up of systems that encourage sustainable behavior. The articles chosen for this compendium cover many aspects of urban living on this individual yet systematic scale. Included are chapters that focus on: How individuals, households, and cities use resources and create greenhouse gas emissions How urban resources can be expanded to include waste streams Options for measuring and encouraging sustainable transportation Cities' renewable and non-renewable energy demands Sustainable housing solutions Case studies and up-to-date research provide urban planners with new options for creating cities that will meet the demands of the twenty-first century. Also appropriate for graduate students who are preparing for careers related to urban planning, this compendium captures and integrates the current work being done in this vitally important field.
Publication Date: 2015-07-29