Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Material Sciences Books
Biomaterials and Materials for Medicine by "Biomaterials and Materials for Medicine offers an application-oriented summary of innovations in this rapidly evolving field, offering a view of various directions in biomaterials and medical materials and their advanced uses. This book is aimed at an interdisciplinary group of researchers working on development and application of biomaterials for medical applications in the fields of materials scientists, biomedical engineering, and medicine"--
Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Composite Materials Handbook MIL 17 by This standardization handbook has been developed and is being maintained as a joint effort of the Department of Defense and the Federal Aviation Administration. It provides guidelines and material properties for polymer (organic) and metal matrix composite materials. This handbook aims to provide a standard source of statistically-based mechanical property data, procedures, and overall materials guidelines for characterization of composite material systems. This volume provides methodologies and lessons learned for the design, manufacture, and analysis of composite structures and for utilization of the material data provided in Volume II consistent with the guidance provided in Volume I. It covers processes and effects of variability; quality control of production materials; design and analysis; structural behavior of joints and reliability; thick section composites; and supportability.
Publication Date: 1999-06-18
Comprehensive Biomaterials II by Comprehensive Biomaterials II, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set brings together the myriad facets of biomaterials into one expertly-written series of edited volumes. Articles address the current status of nearly all biomaterials in the field, their strengths and weaknesses, their future prospects, appropriate analytical methods and testing, device applications and performance, emerging candidate materials as competitors and disruptive technologies, research and development, regulatory management, commercial aspects, and applications, including medical applications. Detailed coverage is given to both new and emerging areas and the latest research in more traditional areas of the field. Particular attention is given to those areas in which major recent developments have taken place. This new edition, with 75% new or updated articles, will provide biomedical scientists in industry, government, academia, and research organizations with an accurate perspective on the field in a manner that is both accessible and thorough. Reviews the current status of nearly all biomaterials in the field by analyzing their strengths and weaknesses, performance, and future prospects Covers all significant emerging technologies in areas such as 3D printing of tissues, organs and scaffolds, cell encapsulation; multimodal delivery, cancer/vaccine - biomaterial applications, neural interface understanding, materials used for in situ imaging, and infection prevention and treatment Effectively describes the many modern aspects of biomaterials from basic science, to clinical applications
Publication Date: 2017-05-18
Comprehensive Microsystems by Comprehensive Microsystems, is a new 3-volume reference work on Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS). The microsystems field has expanded to embrace a host of technologies, and microelectronics has now been joined by micro-mechanics, micro-fluidics and micro-optics to allow the fabrication of complex, multi- functional integrated microsystems. At over 2000 pages, Comprehensive Microsystems represents the authoritative primary reference source on microsystems. It addresses the need for an overview of the technologies and capabilities available in this highly interdisciplinary and dynamically-growing engineering field. Comprehensive Microsystems, provides an exhaustive overview of the wide range of topics which comprise the microsystems field, including, design and materials, fabrication and packaging, optical systems, chemical and biological systems, physical sensors, actuation, electronics for MEMS and industrial applications. Every article in the work has been commissioned by a panel of internationally recognized editors and written by an acknowledged expert in any one of a variety of disciplines. The articles provide a concise overview of a particular aspect of the microsystems field and are accompanied by extensive bibliographies, cross-referencing and indexes, enhancing the value of the text. by guiding the user to the most relevant further reading within the ever-expanding available literature. Much care has been given to avoid overlap and to provide consistency in style and contents. The first and foremost comprehensive reference on Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) Unifies established research from recognized sources in an easily accessible format Provides an essential reference source for both academics and professionals in the field
Publication Date: 2007-11-28
Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology by From the Introduction: Nanotechnology and its underpinning sciences are progressing with unprecedented rapidity. With technical advances in a variety of nanoscale fabrication and manipulation technologies, the whole topical area is maturing into a vibrant field that is generating new scientific research and a burgeoning range of commercial applications, with an annual market already at the trillion dollar threshold. The means of fabricating and controlling matter on the nanoscale afford striking and unprecedented opportunities to exploit a variety of exotic phenomena such as quantum, nanophotonic and nanoelectromechanical effects. Moreover, researchers are elucidating new perspectives on the electronic and optical properties of matter because of the way that nanoscale materials bridge the disparate theories describing molecules and bulk matter. Surface phenomena also gain a greatly increased significance; even the well-known link between chemical reactivity and surface-to-volume ratio becomes a major determinant of physical properties, when it operates over nanoscale dimensions. Against this background, this comprehensive work is designed to address the need for a dynamic, authoritative and readily accessible source of information, capturing the full breadth of the subject. Its six volumes, covering a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences, have been written and edited by an outstanding team of international experts. Addressing an extensive, cross-disciplinary audience, each chapter aims to cover key developments in a scholarly, readable and critical style, providing an indispensible first point of entry to the literature for scientists and technologists from interdisciplinary fields. The work focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure and applications, reviewing nanomaterials and their respective technologies in well-structured and comprehensive articles with extensive cross-references. It has been a constant surprise and delight to have found, amongst the rapidly escalating number who work in nanoscience and technology, so many highly esteemed authors willing to contribute. Sharing our anticipation of a major addition to the literature, they have also captured the excitement of the field itself in each carefully crafted chapter. Along with our painstaking and meticulous volume editors, full credit for the success of this enterprise must go to these individuals, together with our thanks for (largely) adhering to the given deadlines. Lastly, we record our sincere thanks and appreciation for the skills and professionalism of the numerous Elsevier staff who have been involved in this project, notably Fiona Geraghty, Megan Palmer and Greg Harris, and especially Donna De Weerd-Wilson who has steered it through from its inception. We have greatly enjoyed working with them all, as we have with each other.
Publication Date: 2010-10-29
Construction Science and Materials by Construction Science & Materials is designed to cover topics studied at levels 2 - 5 on Construction HND courses and is also suitable for first year undergraduates on construction courses as well as Building surveying, Architectural Technology and Quantity Surveying. It is an essential text for those who have done no science since their GCSEs. Divided into 17 chapters, each with written explanations supplemented by solved examples and relevant diagrams to substantiate the text. Chapters end with numerical questions covering a range of problems and their answers are given at the end of the book and on the book's website.
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook provides a convenient, single-volume source for physical and chemical property data on a wide range of engineering materials. As with the first three editions, this Fourth Edition contains information verified by major professional associations such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering by Written by more than 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials that lead to quality-of-life improvements. Building on traditional engineering principles, it serves to bridge advances in materials science, life sciences, nanotechnology, and cell biology to innovations in solving medical problems with applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices. In nearly 300 entries, this four-volume Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Second Edition covers: essential topics integral to tissue engineering research: bioreactors, scaffolding materials and fabrication, tissue mechanics, cellular interaction, and development of major tissues and organs being attempted by researchers worldwide artificial lungs and muscles, bio-artificial livers, and corneal, dental, inner ear, and total hip implants tissue engineering of blood vessels, heart valves, ligaments, microvascular networks, skeletal muscle, and skin bone remodeling, bone cement, and bioabsorbable bone plates and screws controlled drug delivery, insulin delivery, and transdermal and ocular implant-based drug delivery endovascular stent grafts, vascular grafts, and xenografts 3-D medical imaging, electrical impedance imaging, and intravascular ultrasound biomedical, protein adsorption, and in vivo cardiovascular modeling polymer foams, biofunctional and conductive polymers, and electroactive polymeric materials blood-material interactions, the bone-implant interface, host reactions, and foreign body responses and much more Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) email@example.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) firstname.lastname@example.org
Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats 27 Volumes Updating wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Encyclopedia of Materials by The study of materials is interdisciplinary in nature and requires knowledge of research in many related fields, such as physics, chemistry, engineering and even biomedical science. Scientists and engineers working with materials increasingly need a medium for gathering relevant information from the growing amount of literature available. The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena Structural Phenomena Fundamental Core Theory Structural Materials Polymers and Materials Chemistry Functional Materials This title is also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. Please contact your librarian for more information about access to these products within your institution.
Publication Date: 2001-09-19
Encyclopedia of Renewable and Sustainable Materials by Encyclopedia of Renewable and Sustainable Materials, Five Volume Set provides a comprehensive overview, covering research and development on all aspects of renewable, recyclable and sustainable materials. The use of renewable and sustainable materials in building construction, the automotive sector, energy, textiles and others can create markets for agricultural products and additional revenue streams for farmers, as well as significantly reduce carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions, manufacturing energy requirements, manufacturing costs and waste. This book provides researchers, students and professionals in materials science and engineering with tactics and information as they face increasingly complex challenges around the development, selection and use of construction and manufacturing materials. Covers a broad range of topics not available elsewhere in one resource Arranged thematically for ease of navigation Discusses key features on processing, use, application and the environmental benefits of renewable and sustainable materials Contains a special focus on sustainability that will lead to the reduction of carbon emissions and enhance protection of the natural environment with regard to sustainable materials
Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials by Smart materials--materials and structures that can impart information about their environment to an observer or monitoring device--are revolutionizing fields as diverse as engineering, optics, and medical technology. Advances in smart materials are impacting disciplines across the scientific and technological landscape. Now, practictioners and researchers have an authoritative source to go to for answers about this emerging new area. Encyclopedia of Smart Materials provides A-to-Z coverage of the entire field of intelligent materials. Discussions of theory, fabrication, processing, applications, and uses of these unique materials are presented here in a collection of concise entries from the world's foremost experts in the field--including scientists, educators and engineers. This encyclopedia is as broad in scope as the technology itself, addressing daily, commercial applications as well as sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground, and within the human body. Extensively cross-referenced and generously supplemented with bibliographies and indexes, this book's treatment also broaches the specialized properties and coatings that are required for the use of materials in extreme conditions. Illustrated with photographs, tables, line drawings, and equations, Encyclopedia of Smart Materials is the premier reference for material scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants, patent attorneys and students in these areas. An essential resource on the shelves of laboratories, government facilities, and academic libraries. Editor-in-Chief, Mel Schwartz has over forty years of experience with metals, ceramics, and composites, with special expertise in brazing. The holder of five patents, he has authored thirteen books and more than one hundred technical papers and articles. Reach the information you need rapidly and easily with the ONLINE edition of the Encyclopedia of Smart Materials. The online edition delivers all the rich content of the print edition with the added benefits of an advanced search engine and the desktop convenience of web access. For more information or to license the online edition (beginning July 2002) please visit: www.interscience.wiley.com/reference/esm
Publication Date: 2002-03-22
Handbook of Optical Materials by For years scientists turned to the CRC Handbook of Laser Science & Technology for reliable data on optical materials. Out of print for several years, that standard-setting work now has a successor: the Handbook of Optical Materials. This new handbook is an authoritative compilation of the physical properties of materials used in all types of lasers and optical systems. In it, scientist, author, and editor Dr. Marvin J. Weber provides extensive data tabulations and references for the most important optical materials, including crystals, glasses, polymers, metals, liquids, and gases. The properties detailed include both linear and nonlinear optical properties, mechanical properties, thermal properties together with many additional special properties, such as electro-, magneto-, and elasto-optic properties. Using a minimum of narration and logically organized by material properties, the handbook's unique presentation simplifies the process of comparing different materials for their suitability in particular applications. Appendices furnish a wealth of other useful information, including lists of the many abbreviations and acronyms that proliferate in this field. The Handbook of Optical Materials is simply the most complete one-stop source available for materials data essential to lasers and optical systems.
Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Introduction to Ceramics by This 2nd edition of Introduction to Ceramics has been printed 15 years after the 1st edition. Many advances have been made in understanding and controlling and developing new ceramic processes and products. this text has a considerable amount of new material and the product modification.
Call Number: 666 K521i 1976
Publication Date: 1976-05-04
Introduction to the Electronic Properties of Materials by Electronic materials provide the basis for many high tech industries that have changed rapidly in recent years. In this fully revised and updated second edition, the author discusses the range of available materials and their technological applications. Introduction to the Electronic Properties of Materials, 2nd Edition presents the principles of the behavior of electrons in materials and develops a basic understanding with minimal technical detail. Broadly based, it touches on all of the key issues in the field and offers a multidisciplinary approach spanning physics, electrical engineering, and materials science. It provides an understanding of the behavior of electrons within materials, how electrons determine the magnetic thermal, optical and electrical properties of materials, and how electronic properties are controlled for use in technological applications. Although some mathematics is essential in this area, the mathematics that is used is easy to follow and kept to an appropriate level for the reader. An excellent introductory text for undergraduate students, this book is a broad introduction to the topic and provides a careful balance of information that will be appropriate for physicists, materials scientists, and electrical engineers.
Call Number: http://libproxy.rose-hulman.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=1666797
Publication Date: 2001-10-24
Materials Handbook by The unique and practical Materials Handbook (third edition) provides quick and easy access to the physical and chemical properties of very many classes of materials. Its coverage has been expanded to include whole new families of materials such as minor metals, ferroalloys, nuclear materials, food, natural oils, fats, resins, and waxes. Many of the existing families--notably the metals, gases, liquids, minerals, rocks, soils, polymers, and fuels--are broadened and refined with new material and up-to-date information. Several of the larger tables of data are expanded and new ones added. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class. After a chapter introducing some general properties of materials, each of twenty-four classes of materials receives attention in its own chapter. The health and safety issues connected with the use and handling of industrial materials are included. Detailed appendices provide additional information on subjects as diverse as crystallography, spectroscopy, thermochemical data, analytical chemistry, corrosion resistance, and economic data for industrial and hazardous materials. Specific further reading sections and a general bibliography round out this comprehensive guide. The index and tabular format of the book makes light work of extracting what the reader needs to know from the wealth of factual information within these covers. Dr. François Cardarelli has spent many years compiling and editing materials data. His professional expertise and experience combine to make this handbook an indispensable reference tool for scientists and engineers working in numerous fields ranging from chemical to nuclear engineering. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class. After a chapter introducing some general properties of materials, materials are classified as follows. ferrous metals and their alloys; ferroalloys; common nonferrous metals; less common metals; minor metals; semiconductors and superconductors; magnetic materials; insulators and dielectrics; miscellaneous electrical materials; ceramics, refractories and glasses; polymers and elastomers; minerals, ores and gemstones; rocks and meteorites; soils and fertilizers; construction materials; timbers and woods; fuels, propellants and explosives; composite materials; gases; liquids; food, oils, resin and waxes; nuclear materials. food materials
Publication Date: 2016-09-30
Materials Processing Handbook by The field of materials science and engineering is rapidly evolving into a science of its own. While traditional literature in this area often concentrates primarily on property and structure, the Materials Processing Handbook provides a much needed examination from the materials processing perspective. This unique focus reflects the changing comple
Publication Date: 2007-03-28
Materials Selection in Mechanical Design, 4th Edition by Understanding materials, their properties and behavior is fundamental to engineering design, and a key application of materials science. Written for all students of engineering, materials science and design, Materials Selection in Mechanical Design describes the procedures for material selection in mechanical design in order to ensure that the most suitable materials for a given application are identified from the full range of materials and section shapes available. Extensively revised for this fourth edition, Materials Selection in Mechanical Design is recognized as one of the leading materials selection texts, and provides a unique and genuinely innovative resource. Features new to this edition: Material property charts now in full color throughout Significant revisions of chapters on engineering materials, processes and process selection, and selection of material and shape while retaining the book's hallmark structure and subject content Fully revised chapters on hybrid materials and materials and the environment Appendix on data and information for engineering materials fully updated Revised and expanded end-of-chapter exercises and additional worked examples Materials are introduced through their properties; materials selection charts (also available on line) capture the important features of all materials, allowing rapid retrieval of information and application of selection techniques. Merit indices, combined with charts, allow optimization of the materials selection process. Sources of material property data are reviewed and approaches to their use are given. Material processing and its influence on the design are discussed. New chapters on environmental issues, industrial engineering and materials design are included, as are new worked examples, exercise materials and a separate, online Instructor's Manual. New case studies have been developed to further illustrate procedures and to add to the practical implementation of the text. The new edition of the leading materials selection text, now with full color material property charts Includes significant revisions of chapters on engineering materials, processes and process selection, and selection of material and shape while retaining the book's hallmark structure and subject content Fully revised chapters on hybrid materials and materials and the environment Appendix on data and information for engineering materials fully updated Revised and expanded end-of-chapter exercises and additional worked examples
Publication Date: 2010-10-29
Nanotechnologies: the Physics of Nanomaterials by Provides a broad introduction to nanophysics and nanotechnologies, and the importance of low-dimensional and surface physics is discussed indepth. Chapters in Volume 1 covers the large range of physical preparation techniques available for the production of nanomaterials and nanostructuring.
Publication Date: 2020-11-05
Nature of Metals by The Nature of Metals focuses on the characteristics, properties, composition, and reactions of metals. The publication first takes a look at the composition of metals, arrangement of atoms in metals, and alloys. Discussions focus on solubility of metals in each other, constitutional diagrams, naming of planes, patterns of complex structures, sizes of atoms, space lattices, removal of metal by etching reagents, and how etching reveals structure. The text then examines solidification, movement of atoms in solid metals, some effects of atomic movements, and hardening of steel. Topics include effect of rate of cooling, hardenability, tempering, mechanism of age hardening, effect of temperature on the hardening behavior, effect of rate of cooling on the precipitation of tin, mechanism of diffusion, and relative rates of diffusion. The manuscript explores metals in nuclear reactors, recrystallization, and special arrangements of atoms, including peculiar behavior in copper-gold alloys, formation of subgrains, and screw dislocations. The book is a valuable source of information for researches interested in the nature of metals.
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Plastics Technology Handbook, 5th Edition by Updated throughout to reflect advances over the last decade, the Fifth Edition continues the handbook¿s tradition of authoritative coverage of fundamentals, production methods, properties, and applications of plastics and polymer-based materials. It covers tooling for plastics fabrication processes, thermoplastics, thermosetting plastics, foamed plastics, reinforced plastics, plastisols, and new developments in mold design. It also discusses rubber compounding and processing technologies. More recent developments in polymer fabrication and processing, including electrospinning, electrografted coating, polymer-metal¿hybrid joining, flex printing, and rapid prototyping/ 3D printing, are also presented. The handbook highlights advanced materials including natural and synthetic gfnanosize polymers, their unusual properties, and innovative applications, as well as polymer-carbon nanocomposites, graphene-based polymer nanocomposites, smart healable polymer composites, smart polymer coatings, electroactive polymers, polymer nanomaterials, and novel nano-/microfibrillar polymer composites. It offers updates on polymer solar battery development, plastics recycling and disposal methods, new concepts of "upcycling" and single-polymer composites, renewable synthetic polymers, biodegradable plastics and composites, and toxicity of plastics. The book also provides an overview of new developments in polymer applications in various fields including packaging, building and construction, corrosion prevention and control, automotive, aerospace applications, electrical and electronic applications, agriculture and horticulture, domestic appliances and business machines, medical and biomedical applications, marine and offshore applications, and sports.
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Shreir's Corrosion by This four-volume reference work builds upon the success of past editions of Elsevier's Corrosion title (by Shreir, Jarman, and Burstein), covering the range of innovations and applications that have emerged in the years since its publication. Developed in partnership with experts from the Corrosion and Protection Centre at the University of Manchester, Shreir's Corrosion meets the research and productivity needs of engineers, consultants, and researchers alike. Incorporates coverage of all aspects of the corrosion phenomenon, from the science behind corrosion of metallic and non-metallic materials in liquids and gases to the management of corrosion in specific industries and applications Features cutting-edge topics such as medical applications, metal matrix composites, and corrosion modeling Covers the benefits and limitations of techniques from scanning probes to electrochemical noise and impedance spectroscopy
Publication Date: 2009-02-27
Solid State Chemistry by Simple structures of metals, ionic solids and point defects are discussed.Electrical and magnetic properties are explained in detail.Superconductivity has been included.ABOUT THE BOOK:This book is a chemist's approach to the subject. Many concepts of solid state science have been explained in a simple lucid manner so that undergraduate students can read it independently. Some chapters have been rewritten for this edition and new chapters have been added. It is recommended to serve as a textbook for courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Uhlig's Corrosion Handbook by This book serves as a reference for engineers, scientists, and students concerned with the use of materials in applications where reliability and resistance to corrosion are important. It updates the coverage of its predecessor, including coverage of: corrosion rates of steel in major river systems and atmospheric corrosion rates, the corrosion behavior of materials such as weathering steels and newer stainless alloys, and the corrosion behavior and engineering approaches to corrosion control for nonmetallic materials. New chapters include: high-temperature oxidation of metals and alloys, nanomaterials, and dental materials, anodic protection. Also featured are chapters dealing with standards for corrosion testing, microbiological corrosion, and electrochemical noise.
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Material Sciences Databases
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of eBooks from EBSCOhost.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window AccessEngineering includes DataVis, an interactive data visualization tool for exploring material properties.
Knovel Online Books This link opens in a new windowA collection of 800+ online reference and text books for science and engineering. Browse by title or search all titles or subject groups for needed information in multiple disciplines. Subject areas include engineering, chemistry, materials science, biochemistry, biology & biotechnology, environmental engineering, and more.
SciFinder - SciFinder-n - Chemical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowExplore the CAS databases by Chemical Substance or Reaction, Research Topic, Author Name, Document Identifier, Company Name/Organization, or Browse. The database contains over 168 million organic and inorganic substances, over 68 million biosequences, over 126 million reactions, over 1.2 million searchable Markush representations from 500,000 patents, over 25 million reference to the biomedical literature, 389,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals, and millions of commercially available products.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database (NOW including eBooks and Standards) This link opens in a new windowASCE's electronic information retrieval service to all its publications published. Full-text access is available for e-journals from 1872 to the present and for e-books from 1985 to the present. The latest e-standards are also available.
ASME Digital Library This link opens in a new window ASME provides full text access to all Transactions Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME e-books from 1992-2019, and abstracts to Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
IEEE E-Books This link opens in a new windowDescription of this database.