LibGuides: Music: Journals and Databases

Need a Journal Article We Don't Have?

The Logan Library's journals are listed in the Journal Finder.

If the Logan Library does not have the journal article that you need, you can request it using an Interlibrary Loan request form. Please allow 1-5 days for articles.

Online Resource Sites

MusRef

Online Resources for Music Scholars

Scholarly Societies Project: Music

Open Access Music Journals

African Music Encyclopedia

Arabic Music Manuscripts at the Yale Library

Yale University Library Judaica Collection

The Milken Archive of Jewish Music

Caffe Lena History Project - American Folksong

The Yale Indian Papers Project

Music Citations: Turbian/Chicago Style

DePauw University: Music Citations: Turbian/Chicago Style

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window ARTS & SCIENCES I covers 115 core, full text, journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. ARTS & SCIENCES VII covers 186 core, full text, journals in all arts, humanities, and social sciences. Arts & Sciences XV Collection (Music Collection) covers 100+ core, full text music journals. MATHEMATICS & STATISTICS covers 50 cover, full text journals in the mathematical and statistical sciences. Archival Journals collection features the full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Collections include multi-discipline, discipline-specific, and region-based packages. Thematic Collections focus on emerging areas of research and contain multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports in Sustainability, Security, and Lives of Literature. Primary Source contains 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Afrida, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants database, a growing collection of 3 millions high-resolution specimens.
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window At Digital Theatre we believe the arts are for everyone, not just the few. Harnessing the power of technology and the passion of like-minded people, we want to bring live performance into every classroom and library, accompanied by a range of invaluable educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection. Founded in 2009, Digital Theatre+ is already the world’s leading educational platform for the performing arts. Today, we provide 3 million students in over 1,700 schools, colleges and universities across 65 countries with unlimited access to over 900 full-length productions and educational resources.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Abstract search database for Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), and Medline (1950-present).
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
* All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
* Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
* Track cation activity with Citation Alerts.
* See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
* Use Analyze results to identify trends and publication patterns.
EBSCO Historical Periodicals Thematic Subsets Collection (50 Series) This link opens in a new window Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Both researchers and faculty members can find just what they are searching for in a particular area of interest within these smaller collections, which vary in title count from 87 to approximately 300 in the broadest collection.
- This link opens in a new window

JSTOR Music E-Journals List
- This link opens in a new window

Database Search Tips

Search tips for finding journal articles

Type the keyword (title, author, subject, etc.) of interest in the database's search box and click on the search button
Limit the search results to English. Be aware that non-English sources often abstracts written in English.
If you have other search limits (additional keywords, date ranges, etc.), apply them to your search results.
Review the title, abstract, and keywords of each result.
Select only articles you think will be of great use.
If you need to access the full text of a journal article that is not immediately in the database, search the title of the journal (not the title of the journal article) in Journal Finder. The Journal Finder lists all the full text journals made available by the Logan Library.
If you need access to the full text of a journal article that is not in Journal Finder, submit an Interlibrary Loan request form.