Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RH-330 - Technical & Professional Communications: Cross-Disciplinary Project

These are good starting points for Tech Comm. You may want to dig a little deeper into some of the other Research Guides for further information if needed.

Databases

Environmental Sciences

Environmental Sciences

Basics of Environmental Science (ProQuest)

- Biomass Assessment Handbook: Bioenergy for a Sustainable Environment (333.9539 B615a)

Dictionary of Environment & Ecology (ProQuest)

Dictionary of Environmental History (ProQuest)

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering (EBSCOhost)

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering (Taylor & Francis)

- Encyclopedia of Sustainability (333.7203 C712e)

- Environmental Engineers’ Handbook (Ref. 628 E57e 1997)

Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science (EBSCOhost)

Geoenvironmental Engineering (Knovel)

McGraw Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science (EBSCOhost)

Principles of Environmental Chemistry (Knovel)

Organizations

Indiana Department of Environmental Management: https://www.in.gov/idem/

Indiana Water Monitoring Council: http://www.inwmc.org/

Indiana Watershed Leadership Program: https://engineering.purdue.edu/watersheds/

Purdue University Extension Office: https://www.extension.purdue.edu/

United States Center for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/

United States Department of Agriculture: https://aglearn.usda.gov/

United States Environmental Protection Agency: https://www.epa.gov/

Vigo County Soil and Water Conservation District: https://www.vigocounty.in.gov/department/index.php?structureid=35

World Health Organization: https://www.who.int/heli/risks/water/water/en/

Maps

Indiana Lakes, Rivers, and Water Sources: https://geology.com/lakes-rivers-water/indiana.shtml

Map of Otter Creek Township, Vigo County, Indiana: https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/InHisAtls/id/1560/rec/10

Otter Creek Base 

Otter Creek, Vigo County, Indiana: Otter Creek Topo Map in Vigo County, Indiana (anyplaceamerica.com)

Otter Creek Watershed: https://www.in.gov/idem/nps/resources/total-maximum-daily-load-reports/otter-creek/

US Rivers Map: https://www.freeworldmaps.net/united-states/us-rivers.html

 Wabash Drainage

 

 

Selected No-Till Farming Practices Articles

Selected Cover Crop Farming Practices Articles

Selected Repair / Maintenance of Septic Systems Articles

Operating and Maintaining an Onsite Sewage System: https://www.extension.purdue.edu/extmedia/HENV/HENV-107-w.pdf

Septic Systems and Their Maintenance: https://content.ces.ncsu.edu/septic-systems-and-their-maintenance

Selected Watershed Articles

Characterizations of a Healthy Stream: https://www.academia.edu/13195422/Characteristics_of_a_healthy_strea

Monitoring Water in Indiana: Choices for Nonpoint Source and Other Watershed Projects: https://engineering.purdue.edu/watersheds/monitoring/MonitoringWaterinIndiana.2012.1.pdf

Factors Influencing Stream Health: http://www.hawaii.edu/gk-12/evo/erinb.streams.factors.htm

The Otter Creek Project: https://ouabachelandconservancy.org/otter-creek

Understanding Factors Influencing Farmers' Engagement in Watershed Management Activities: https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fsufs.2021.669571/full

Using Social Indicators to Evaluate the Effectiveness of Outreach in Two Indiana Watersheds: https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1936-704X.2015.03200.x

Water: Rivers & Streams. https://archive.epa.gov/water/archive/web/html/streams.html

 

Selected Articles on Conservation and Psychology

People, place, behavior, and context: A research agenda for expanding our understanding of what motivates farmers' conservation behaviors: https://scholar.google.com/citations?view_op=view_citation&hl=en&user=KO5AaoUAAAAJ&citation_for_view=KO5AaoUAAAAJ:BqipwSGYUEgC

Toward a theory of farmer conservation attitudes: Dual interests and willingness to take action to protect water quality: https://www.nrs.fs.fed.us/pubs/54449

;