It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry: Patents / Technical Reports
Research guide for chemistry and to a lesser extent, chemical engineering.
Legal rights granted by a government or patent issuing agency to an inventor for 20 years in exchange for public disclosure of the invention. There are some variations to the length of the patent protection.
Patent owners have the right to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention in the jurisdiction in which the patent is registered.
Patents can be sold, licensed, reassigned, transferred or simply abandoned.
There are more than 100 countries and/or agencies worldwide that grant patents. The laws governing intellectual property vary by country.
What types of patents exist?
Utility patent – protects any new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof
Design patent – protects any new, original, and ornamental design for an article of manufacture. U.S. design patents are marked with D, Des., or Design.
Plant patent – protects invented or discovers and asexually reproduces any distinct and new variety of plant. U.S. plant patents are marked with PP or Plant.
What are the patentability criteria?
The invention must be novel.
Has the invention been used in the public, sold, or published anywhere in the world?
The invention must have some utility or usefulness.
Is the invention useful? It does not have to be practical.
The invention must not be obvious.
Is the invention obvious to someone who is skilled in the art?
Plus, enough detail about the invention must be shared in the patent so that someone of average skill in the art could understand the invention.
SPIE Digital LIbraryThe SPIE Digital Library is the largest collection of optics and photonics applied research in the world and includes more than 430,000 technical papers from 10 peer-reviewed journals, SPIE e-books from 1989-2018, and SPIE conference proceedings.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) PublicThe National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) Public provides access to the National Technical Information Services (NTIS) content collection. It contains over 3 million records with over 800K full-text reports. The NTRL is updated each week with newly acquired information, and recently digitized existing content. It is the most convenient and economical means of accessing the most comprehensive library of federally produced scientific and technical information available today. Registration is required to access this U.S. government database.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)Founded in 1901 and now part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, NIST is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Congress established the agency to remove a major handicap to U.S. industrial competitiveness at the time—a second-rate measurement infrastructure that lagged behind the capabilities of England, Germany, and other economic rivals. Today, NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies—nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair—to the largest and most complex of human-made creations, from earthquake-resistant skyscrapers to wide-body jetliners to global communication networks. We invite you to explore our web site to learn about our current projects, to find out how you can work with us, or to make use of our products and services.
NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) is an experimental service that allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs.
SAE MOBILUS (Full text to the Technical Papers)SAE MOBILUS provides full-text access to the SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to the present and abstracts to other SAE resources. SAE Technical Papers from the Society of Automotive Engineers cover automotive electronics, diesel engines, spark ignition engines, emissions, fuel economy, manufacturing and production, materials and structures, missiles and spacecraft, noise safety, trucks and buses, V/STOL, and energy conversion. The Digital Library indexes and provides abstracts to journal articles, books, and standards. Older papers can be obtained in print in Logan Library. Access to SAE Ground Vehicle Standards can be accessed from the reference computer in the Logan Library.
SciFinder - SciFinder-n - Chemical AbstractsExplore the CAS databases by Chemical Substance or Reaction, Research Topic, Author Name, Document Identifier, Company Name/Organization, or Browse. The database contains over 168 million organic and inorganic substances, over 68 million biosequences, over 126 million reactions, over 1.2 million searchable Markush representations from 500,000 patents, over 25 million reference to the biomedical literature, 389,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals, and millions of commercially available products.
Patent, Copyright and Trademark by Richard StimWhether you're an inventor, designer, writer or programmer, you need to understand the language of intellectual property law. Otherwise, you can't intelligently deal with intellectual property issues such as: . who owns creative works or valuable information . how owners can protect and enforce their ownership rights . how disputes between intellectual property owners can be resolved, and . how ownership rights can best be transferred to others. With Patent, Copyright & Trademark, you will: . get clear overviews of relevant laws . understand the different kinds of protection offered by patents, copyrights, trademarks and trade secrets -- and which apply to your work . get a plain-English definition of every term you're likely to come across, and . find the information you need, quickly and easily -- all entries are organized by topic and extensively cross-referenced. This edition has been updated to reflect the latest changes in intellectual property law and provides the latest U.S. Patent and Trademark Office rules and forms. It includes up-to-date discussions of the new ""first to file"" rule, which promises to revolutionize patent law. Plus, read all new Q&As excerpted from author Richard Stim's popular blog, Dear Rich. nbsp;
Call Number: Ref. 346.73048 S858p 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Nolo's Patents for Beginners by David Pressman; Richard StimPatents are explained in this clear guide to every step of the patenting process. Do you have a great idea for a product? Do you toil away in an office, garage or basement lab day by day in the hopes of bringing a new widget to life? What will you do when it's alive and kicking? Here's the primer every first-time inventor needs. Packed with detailed information and concise explanations, Nolo's Patents for Beginners defines what a patent is and what it can do for you. Step by step, it explains how to: use basic patent principles document an invention conduct a patent search acquire patent rights "read" an application determine patent ownership analyze disputes find patent information interpret international patent law Nolo's Patents for Beginners provides sample forms and letters, resources and a glossary of terms. This edition is completely revised to cover all changes in patent case law and updated regulations for inventors applying for a patent.
Call Number: Ref. 346.730486 P928n 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-30
Biopatent Law by Ulrich Storz; Derek E. Constantine; Scott D. Marty; Matthew Parker; Martin QuodbachSpringerBriefs in Biotech Patents presents timely reports on intellectual properties (IP) issues and patent aspects in the field of biotechnology. This volume focus on particular aspects of the US patent law, which can have tremendous differences compared to the European law. This includes questions of biopatent prosecution, novelty, inventive step, written disclosure and sufficiency of enablement as well as questions of law enforcement of biotech patents.