Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Places to Publish
- Review where your colleagues have successfully published.
- Rose-Hulman Scholar - Rose-Hulman's institutional repository provides access to the scholarly, educational, and creative works of Rose-Hulman community.
- Rose-Hulman Author Collection - Rose-Hulman's faculty-authored book collection.
- Login with your Rose-Hulman email and password.
- Click on Popular Searches.
- On the pull-down menu, click on Rose-Hulman Author Collection.
- Review the published works to which your library owns and/or subscribes.
- Rose-Hulman Journal Finder - Rose-Hulman's A-to-Z list of electronic and print journal titles.
- Library Catalog - The library catalog for ISU, Rose-Hulman, St. Mary of the Woods, and the Vigo County Public Library.
- Review the journal publications where other authors in your field of research have successfully published.
- Engineering Education Research Publication Venues - A list created and maintained by the ASEE student division and Center for Engineering Learning and Teaching (CELT).
- Clarivate Analytics Master Journal List - Lists of high quality journals indexed in Web of Science. Includes the title, ISSN, publisher, publisher's address, index(es), and subject area.
- Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ indexes and provides access to over 10,500 high quality, free, open access, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals. Their services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. Some of these journals have an article processing fee. All data is freely available. These are legitimate journals.
- Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association - OASPA members are legitimate publishers that adhere to an ethical member code of conduct.
- Edanz Journal Selector - A tool that helps identify relevant journals for publishing your scientific article.
- Journal Guide - A tool that helps identify relevant journals for publishing articles.
- Elsevier Journal Finder - A tool that helps identify relevant Elsevier journals for publishing your scientific article.
- Journal/Article Name Estimator (JANE) - JANE - A tool that helps identify relevant journals for publishing articles based on the article's title or abstract
- Springer Journal Suggester - A tool that helps identify relevant Springer journals for publishing your article.
- Co-Factor Journal Selector - A tool that helps identify relevant journals for publishing your science, technology, and medical articles based on subject, peer review, open access, speed of review and other factors.
- Conduct a search on your specific area of interest. Identify where the papers were published.
- Investigate presenting papers at professional national and international conferences and congresses related to your field of research.
- Investigate writing a book and/or book chapter.
- Milliot, J. (2017, August 25). The World's 54 Largest Publishers, 2017. Publishers Weekly. Article.
- AAUP. (2017). Tips for Finding a Publisher. Association of American University Presses.Tips.
- AAUP. (2017).Book Publisher Subject Grid. Association of American University Presses. Grid.
- Ask your department head.
- Speak with publishers you know and trust.
- Ask a librarian
Places Not to Publish
Be aware that there are many predatory publishers wish to profit from the research of others.
Common characteristics of predatory publishers:
- Publisher exploit the academic need to publish.
- Publisher's online presence does not look legitimate.
- Publisher's journal credentials are weak.
- Publisher exaggerates the quality of publication(s) published.
- List of Suspicious Journals and Publishers - Until December 31, 2016, Jeffrey Beall (librarian) maintained this list of possible predatory, scholarly, open-access journals and publishers.
- Shamseer, L. et al. (2017, March). Potential predatory and legitimate biomedical journals: Can you tell the difference? A cross-sectional comparison. BMC Medicine, 15, 28. Article. This article compares the characteristics of potential predatory, legitimate, open access, and legitimate subscription-based biomedical journals.
Research on Where to Publish
- Epps, Amy S. (2013). Beyond JEE: Finding publication venues to get your message to the ‘right’ audience. Paper presented at the 2013 ASEE ELD Annual Conference & Exposition, Atlanta, GA. Article. Poster.
- Hubbard, David E. (2015). A local and multi-institutional study of open access engineering publishing. Paper presented at the 2015 ASEE ELD Annual Conference & Exposition, Seattle, WA. Slides.
Where RHIT Mechanical Engineering Department is Currently Publishing