It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Research Methods: Databases and Journals
The Logan Library's journals are listed in the Journal Finder.If the Logan Library does not have the journal article that you need, you can request it using an Interlibrary Loan request form. Please allow 1-5 days for articles.
Good starting points for articles
These are good starting points to find articles for your Tech Comm research project. Databases are listed according to relevance. If you are not able to find what you need, try looking through some of the other Research Guides such as the "Engineering Guide."
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is an EBSCO database that provides well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 888,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
Gale In Context: Environmental StudiesThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Environmental Studies is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAbstract search database for Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), and Medline (1950-present).
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Abstracts from over 1,800 journals from Elsevier Science. Rose-Hulman has full-text access to the 616 journals in the Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Science, Energy, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy subject groups. Full text coverage is from 1995 to the present.
SAE MOBILUS (Full text to the Technical Papers)This link opens in a new windowSAE MOBILUS provides full-text access to the SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to the present and abstracts to other SAE resources. SAE Technical Papers from the Society of Automotive Engineers cover automotive electronics, diesel engines, spark ignition engines, emissions, fuel economy, manufacturing and production, materials and structures, missiles and spacecraft, noise safety, trucks and buses, V/STOL, and energy conversion. The Digital Library indexes and provides abstracts to journal articles, books, and standards. Older papers can be obtained in print in Logan Library. Access to SAE Ground Vehicle Standards can be accessed from the reference computer in the Logan Library.
If you have difficulty accessing this database, try using the Microsoft Edge browser and https://saemobilus.sae.org/.
Newspapers can be an excellent means of finding out about similar projects that have been implimented. For instance, some cities, including Terre Haute, have launched hydrid vehicle bus fleets. These articles will often include information on the cost and what savings can be expected. NewsBank allows you to narrow down by state or even by newspaper. It includes the Indianapolis Star. Newspaper Source has full text to the Terre Haute Tribune Star for 2007-2008. 2009 can be accessed through their website. The New York Times in our nation's record and top newspaper.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 860 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers and radio news transcripts. Contains full text for major newspapers, such as Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, USA Today, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal (eastern and western editions), etc. Date coverage varies from the 1990s to the present.