LibGuides: African American / Black Literature Research Guide : History

African American / Black History Websites

Acknowledges and celebrates the generations of African-Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American Society.

Association for the Study of African American Life and History

ASAALH strives to create and disseminate knowledge about Black History.

Black History Month

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum pay tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.

BlackPast.org

This site provides information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world.

Enchanted Learning - Black History Month

Contains timelines, biographies, quizzes, and activities to help celebrate Back History Month.

History.com

Black History Month is an annual celebration of achievements by black Americans and a time for recognizing the central role of African-Americans in U.S. history.

InfoPlease

Contains information about the history of Black History Month, biographies of famous African-Americans, statistics and facts about African-Americans, and more.

National Archives: African American Records

Contains links to various resources for researching African-American history.

National Civil Rights Museum

Shares the culture and lessons from the American Civil Rights Movement to inspire and shape equality and freedom globally. It is located at the site of Dr. Martin Luther King's assassination.

Smithsonian National Museum of African-American and Culture Museum

The only national museum dedicated exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

TeacherVision

Contains biographies on athletes, scientists, and civil rights leaders. It covers information on the the historical and social contexts of slavery.

Underground Railroad

Introduces you to the fascinating people and places associated with the Underground Railroad.

Black History Month

https://asalh.org/black-history-themes/

National Society for Black Engineers (NSBE)

NSBE Main Home Page Logo

NSBE

NSBE Rose-Hulman Student Chapter

Job Search

Famous Hoosiers

Famous African Americans from Indiana and Rose Graduate

Robert Wilkins - He is an author, Rose-Hulman alum, and judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Washington, D.C. Circuit Court. He served on the Presidential Commission created by Congress to plan the National Museum of African-American History and Culture and its location, which is located on the capital's National Mall as part of the Smithsonian Institution.

Famous African Americans from Indiana

https://www.indianamuseum.org/blog-post/black-history-month-four-noteworthy-african-american-hoosiers/