History: Historical Documents Websites

An enormous online collection of historical sources, mostly texts. It includes Ancient, Medieval, and Modern sourcebooks, plus some thematic ones. Most of the texts are relatively short. Most if not all are in English, either originally or translated.

Contains declassified documents from the CIA and other US government agencies. It is easily searchable and is useful for studying US-Latin American relations, particularly with governments to which the US government was hostile.The Nat’l Security Archive is loaded with useful documents, some of them put together into collections on specific topics or events, or as exhibits, and some just in lists.

Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media. As a portal to the collections, Indiana Memory assists individuals to locate materials relevant to their interests and to better appreciate the connections between those materials.

The digital archives contains digitized historical resources from the Institute's Archives housed in Logan Library. Digitized items include the Modulus student yearbook (complete through 1980), photographs, oral history interviews, video from the 1930s and 1950s, R-H history books, early Registrar's records and photos of physical objects.

has large online collections of images and other materials related to the history of Britain, its former colonies, and the rest of the world. Some are on "British Library Web Pages" and some are on "Collect Britain." You can search both at once. For the Collect Britain images, there's a link to a "Large Image" that you can both see and download. Journal articles are not free.

Has some useful online image collections. The American History Museum and the National Portrait Gallery are the most likely places to start looking. Please note that Smithsonian magazine and the various sections for schoolkids and teachers are not appropriate sources for papers except as sources of images.

Has online collections of all kinds of text and image sources