Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical Engineering: CHE200

What Do Chemical Engineers Do?

American Chemical Society: Careers & the Chemical Sciences

American Institute of Chemical Engineers: What Do Chemical Engineers Do? (1 min 20 sec video)

American Institute of Chemical Engineers: Innovation in Chemical Engineering

American Institute of Chemical Engineers: A Century of Triumphs

AccessEngineering

What is AccessEngineering?

AccessEngineering is a McGraw-Hill engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to a collection of critical and regularly updated engineering reference information.This database can be explored by keyword searching and browsing. This tool also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.

 

Who can access and use AccessEngineering?

Rose-Hulman students and employees have unlimited access to AccessEngineering via the Logan Library. This database is only licensed for educational (not for commercial) purposes. 

 

How do I register for an AccessEngineering account?

* If you are on Rose-Hulman's network, you have content access to AccessEngineering at https://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/. Some site functionality such as bookmarking and alerts require a personal account in addition to content access. To register for a personal account, click on https://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/, click on My Account, click on Log in via email/username, click on Register, fill out the form using your Rose-Hulman e-mail address, and click on Register. 

 

How do I access AccessEngineering?

* Click on https://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/.

 

Where can I find AccessEngineering training materials?

* Click here to access AccessEngineering training materials.

Knovel

What is Knovel?

Knovel is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases, delivering trusted, accessible and relevant answers and insights to accelerate foundational engineering knowledge, build expertise in various subjects, and prepare for a career in engineering.

Knovel also provides tools to bring this content into your workflow, with tables and graphs that allow users to manipulate, analyze, and export data—and an extensive unit conversion tool.

 

Who can access and use Knovel?

Rose-Hulman students and employees have unlimited access to Knovel via the Logan Library. This database is only licensed for educational (not for commercial) purposes. 

 

How do I register for an Knovel account?

* If you are on Rose-Hulman's network, you have content access to Knovel at https://library.rose-hulman.edu/Knovel. Some site functionality requires the use of a personal account in addition to content access. To register for a personal account, click on https://app.knovel.com/kn, click on Create an Account, fill out the form using your Rose-Hulman e-mail address, and click on Create Account.

 

How do I access Knovel?

* Click on https://library.rose-hulman.edu/Knovel.

 

Where can I find Knovel training materials?

* Click here to access Knovel training materials.

SciFinder-n

What is SciFinder-n?

SciFinder-n is a collection of Chemical Abstract databases plus Medline. It contains over 168 million organic and inorganic substances, over 68 million biosequences, over 126 million reactions, over 1.2 million searchable Markush representations from 500,000 patents, over 25 million reference to the biomedical literature, 389,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals, and millions of commercially available products. This database can be explored by chemical substance or reaction, research topic, author name, document identifier, company name/organization, or by browsing.

 

Who can access and use SciFinder-n?

Rose-Hulman students and employees have unlimited access to SciFinder via the Logan Library. This database is only licensed for educational (not for commercial) purposes. 

 

How do I register for a SciFinder-n account?

* You must be on campus to create your account.  If you can't be on campus this academic term, please ask Bernadette Ewen for help in creating your account.

* Create a SciFinder username and password. You must use your Rose-Hulman e-mail address.

Click on http://library.rose-hulman.edu/scifinder and use that username and password to log-in.

 

How do I access SciFinder-n?

* Click on https://scifinder-n.cas.org and enter your username and password.

 

Where can I find SciFinder-n training materials?

* Click here to access SciFinder-n training materials.

 

;