We have compiled the following list of free resources for your use in remote teaching and learning.
These resources are in addition to the Logan Libraries current electronic holdings: 690,000+ eBooks, 72,000+ eJournals, 120+ licensed and open-access eDatabases.
In addition to our purchased content, some of our subscribed databases are adding additional content for free during the COVID-19 Pandemic.
Below are some collections/resources for ensuring that you and your students receive the collections support they require for successful completion of research and teaching assignments. This guide is being updated as we work with vendors, library partners and fine tune internal workflows, so please stay tuned for more information in coming days and weeks.
If you are in need of additional electronic content, need training on how to use the Logan Library’s e-resources, or have other information requests, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will do our best to help you. As always, you and your students can reach us via email at email@example.com and via text at (812) 669-3997.
epubBooks.com: free public domain eBooks that you can download in the EPUB format.
Google Books: Previews and full-text eBooks. Full-text books are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce.
Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts Archive: contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books.
Project Gutenberg: first and largest single collection of free eBooks that are out of copyright in the United States.
PLOS (Public Library of Science): open access eJournals in science and medicine.
NCBI Bookshelf: free online access to eBooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare.
Open Textbook Library: 700+ open textbooks
OAPEN Library: Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
BioMed Central: part of Springer/Nature, BMC publishes open access journals in science and medicine.
Open Book Publishers: freely-available eBooks and e-textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Project Muse: open access e-journals and eBooks from university presses and scholarly societies.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books): collection of peer-reviewed open access eBooks.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals): collection of peer-reviewed open access eJournals.
Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub provides free access to a broad suite of Elsevier solutions. Researchers and data scientists are invited to utilize dedicated text-mining and search tools; biomedical, scientific and clinical literature and datasets; and collaboration support tools to advance their COVID-19 work.