LibGuides: Biology & Biomedical Engineering: Databases and Journals

Need a Journal Article We Don't Have?

The Logan Library's journals are listed in the Journal Finder.

If the Logan Library does not have the journal article that you need, you can request it using an Interlibrary Loan request form. Please allow 1-5 days for articles.

Selected BBE Journals

Databases: BioMedical Specific

These are databases that can be used for finding articles in biology and biomedical engineering. Some provide full text, some do not.

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full-Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine premier life sciences database.
* Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
* Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
* Link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles.
PubMED This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine premier life sciences database.
* Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
* Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
* Link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles.

JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Sustainability Collection This link opens in a new window

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Ensembl This link opens in a new window
GenBank This link opens in a new window

Databases: Multidiscipline

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
arXiv ePrint Archive This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
OAIster.org This link opens in a new window
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n - Chemical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
* All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
* Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
* Track cation activity with Citation Alerts.
* See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
* Use Analyze results to identify trends and publication patterns.

General Medical Information

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window

Springer Protocols

Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window

Databases: Multidiscipline and Newspapers

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
America's News (NewsBank) + Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America, 1789-1963 This link opens in a new window
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window
Hoosier State Chronicles This link opens in a new window
McClatchy-Tribune Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
* All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
* Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
* Track cation activity with Citation Alerts.
* See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
* Use Analyze results to identify trends and publication patterns.