Skip to main content

Remote Teaching and Learning Resources: Home

Resources to support remote teaching of Rose-Hulman students

Logan Library

Remote Teaching and Learning Resources

We have compiled the following list of free resources for your use in remote teaching and learning.

These resources are in addition to the Logan Libraries current electronic holdings: 690,000+ eBooks, 72,000+ eJournals, 120+ licensed and open-access eDatabases.

In addition to our purchased content, some of our subscribed databases are adding additional content for free during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Below are some collections/resources for ensuring that you and your students receive the collections support they require for successful completion of research and teaching assignments. This guide is being updated as we work with vendors, library partners and fine tune internal workflows, so please stay tuned for more information in coming days and weeks.

Suggest a Resource

 

Contact Us

If you are in need of additional electronic content, need training on how to use the Logan Library’s e-resources, or have other information requests, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will do our best to help you.  As always, you and your students can reach us via email at library@rose-hulman.edu and via text at (812) 669-3997.

Free eContent

epubBooks.com: free public domain eBooks that you can download in the EPUB format. 

Google Books: Previews and full-text eBooks. Full-text books are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce. 

Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts Archive:  contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books. 

Project Gutenberg: first and largest single collection of free eBooks that are out of copyright in the UnitProject Gutenberged States. 

PLOS (Public Library of Science): open access eJournals in science and medicine. 

NCBI Bookshelf: free online access to eBooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare. 

Open Textbook Library: 700+ open textbooks

OAPEN Library: Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. 

BioMed Central: part of Springer/Nature, BMC publishes open access journals in science and medicine. 

Open Book Publishers:  freely-available eBooks and e-textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences.  

Project Muse: open access e-journals and eBooks from university presses and scholarly societies. 

DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books):  collection of peer-reviewed open access eBooks.  

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals):  collection of peer-reviewed open access eJournals. 

Rose-Hulman: Center for the Practice and Scholarship of Education

Free Vendor Supplied Resources Due To COVID-19

ArtSTOR
Available until Dec. 31. Free access to approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million curated images that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research.

JSTOR
Available until Dec. 31. Free access to all unlicensed e-journal collections and access to more than 25,000 e-books.

ScienceDirect
Available until August 31. The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers for a period of 90 days. Title list.

SIAM Journal of Mathematics of Data Science.
Available until December 2020. SIAM Journal on Mathematics of Data Science (SIMODS) publishes work that advances mathematical, statistical, and computational methods in the context of data and information sciences.

Free eResources for Labs

BioInteractive
Contains data-rich activities and case studies to connect students to ideas in biology.

ChemCollective: Virtual Labs (NSF, Carnegie Mellon, and NSDL)
Free lab simulations for Stoichiometry, Thermochemistry, Equilibrium, Acid-Base Chemistry, Solubility, Oxidation, Oxidation/Reduction and Electrochemistry, and Analytical Chemistry/Lab Techniques.

MERLOT Simulation Collection (California State University)
An online collection of Open Educational Resources. MERLOT offers a wide selection of simulations that are open to use for teaching.

Simulations and Virtual Labs (Colorado School of Mines)
List of free virtual labs and simulations.

ChemCollective: Virtual Labs (NSF, Carnegie Mellon, and NSDL)

#OnlineLabSci
A collection of online science lessons covering projectile motion, laboratory safety, circuit exploration, and gravity & energy.

PhET Interactive Simulations (University of Colorado - Boulder)
A free collection of simulations and teaching activities for Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Math, and Physics.

COVID-19 Research

COVID-19 Databases and Journals is a selected list of databases and journals complied by the U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention to help researchers find scholarly articles about COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus).

Elsevier: Novel Coronavirus Information Center: Free health and medical research content provided by Elsevier.

Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub provides free access to a broad suite of Elsevier solutions. Researchers and data scientists are invited to utilize dedicated text-mining and search tools; biomedical, scientific and clinical literature and datasets; and collaboration support tools to advance their COVID-19 work.

 

Other Free Online Resources

British Museum, London
This iconic museum located in the heart of London allows virtual visitors to tour the Great Court and discover the ancient Rosetta Stone and Egyptian mummies. You can also find hundreds of artifacts on the museum’s virtual tour.

Guggenheim Museum, New York
Google’s Street View feature lets visitors tour the Guggenheim’s famous spiral staircase without ever leaving home. From there, you can discover incredible works of art from the Impressionist, Post-Impressionist, Modern and Contemporary eras.

J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles
European artworks from as far back as the 8th Century can be found in this California art museum. Take a Street View tour to discover a huge collection of paintings, drawings, sculptures, manuscripts, and photographs.

MASP, São Paulo
The Museu de Arte de São Paulo is a non-profit and Brazil’s first modern museum. Artworks placed on clear perspex frames make it seem like the artwork is hovering in midair. Take a virtual tour to experience the wondrous display for yourself.

Musée d’Orsay, Paris
You can virtually walk through this popular gallery that houses dozens of famous works from French artists who worked and lived between 1848 and 1914. Get a peek at artworks from Monet, Cézanne, and Gauguin, among others.

National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
This famous American art museum features two online exhibits through Google. The first is an exhibit of American fashion from 1740 to 1895, including many renderings of clothes from the colonial and Revolutionary eras. The second is a collection of works from Dutch Baroque painter Johannes Vermeer.

National Museum of Anthropology, Mexico City
Built in 1964, this museum is dedicated to the archaeology and history of Mexico’s pre-Hispanic heritage. There are 23 exhibit rooms filled with ancient artifacts, including some from the Mayan civilization.

National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Seoul
One of Korea’s popular museums can be accessed from anywhere around the world. Google’s virtual tour takes you through six floors of Contemporary art from Korea and all over the globe.

On the Boards TV

Free 48 hour access to all performances available through their site. On the Boards.TV

Paris Art Museum
Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others. Paris Art Museum

Pergamon Museum, Berlin
As one of Germany’s largest museums, Pergamon has a lot to offer – even if you can’t physically be there. This historical museum is home to plenty of ancient artifacts including the Ishtar Gate of Babylon and, of course, the Pergamon Altar.

Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
Explore the masterworks from the Dutch Golden Age, including works from Vermeer and Rembrandt. Google offers a Street View tour of this iconic museum, so you can feel as if you’re actually wandering its halls.

Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam
Anyone who is a fan of this tragic, ingenious painter can see his works up close (or, almost up close) by virtually visiting this museum – the largest collection of artworks by Vincent van Gogh, including over 200 paintings, 500 drawings, and over 750 personal letters.

Uffizi Gallery, Florence
This less well-known gallery houses the art collection of one of Florence, Italy’s most famous families, the de'Medicis. The building was designed by Giorgio Vasari in 1560 specifically for Cosimo I de'Medici, but anyone can wander its halls from anywhere in the world.

;